BJP gets hold of two more DDCs as its nominees get elected chairpersons in Reasi, Samba


NC, PDP open account by taking hold of Ganderbal, Pulwama districts

Jammu/Srinagar: Bharatiya Janata Party on Wednesday got hold of Reasi and Samba District Development Councils also following the election of its nominees as chairpersons at both the places.

Officials said that against BJP’s seven votes in the 14-member Reasi DDC, the saffron party’s Saraf Singh Nag from Bhomag constituency polled nine votes defeating National Conference’s Jagjeevan Lal (Reasi), a former minister, by two votes. However, it lost the post of vice chairperson to an independent Sajra Qadir from Gulabgarh in the draw of lots which was held after she and the BJP candidate Abdul Rashid (Jij Bagli) had a tie after polling seven votes each.

In Samba DDC, BJP’s Keshav Dutt and Balwan Singh were unanimously elected chairman and vice chairman respectively. BJP has 13 members and NC only one in the 14 member District Development Council.

Of the 10 districts in Jammu, BJP has already got hold of Jammu, Kathua, Doda and Udhampur DDCs.

Meanwhile, National Conference and PDP on Wednesday opened its account by getting hold of Ganderbal and Pulwama DDCs respectively.

According to officials, Nuzhat Ishfaq of NC was elected as Chairperson and Bilal Ahmad Sheikh of PDP as Vice-Chairperson of Ganderbal DDC. In Pulwama DDC,

In Pulwama DDC, Syed Bari Andrabi of PDP and Mukhtiar Ahmad Bandh of NC were elected Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson respectively.