NC, Cong jointly get control of DDC in Rajouri


Jammu: After Kishtwar, National Conference and Congress jointly got hold of border Rajouri district on Friday after both the party nominees polled eight votes each in the 14-member District Development Council.

Officials said that NC’s advocate Naseem Liaqat was declared elected chairman and Congress’ Shabir Khan vice chairman of the Council. The latter also happens to be former minister.

However, election of NC and Congress nominees to key positions in the DDC did not come without surprise for them as one of their member voted for BJP candidate Iqbal Malik for vice chairperson and an independent  Shazia Kouser supported by it for chairperson. Both got six votes against their combined strength of five members in the Council including BJP (three), Apni Party and independent (one each).

The People’s Alliance for Gupkar Declaration had six votes including NC (five) and PDP (one), besides Congress (3).

Earlier  on Thursday, NC and Congress had opened their account in Jammu division when their nominees, Pooja Thakur and Saima Parveen, got elected as chairperson and vice chairperson of the Kishtwar DDC, respectively.

In Ramban district, NC’s Shamshad Bano was elected chairperson and Rabia Hamid (independent) as vice-chairperson.