Tashi Gyaltson heads Leh Hill Council as newly elected councilors take oath


Leh, October 31: Ladakh on Saturday witnessed yet another historic moment when all the newly elected 26 councilors to the Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council, Leh took oath at Sindhu Sanskriti Kendra here, the day it had become a Union Territory an year ago.

Administered oath of office and secrecy by the Principal District and Session Judge, Leh, R.S Jasrotia, they later elected Advocate Tashi Gyaltson as the new Chairman/Chief Executive Councilor of the Leh Hill Council and Councillor Diskit Tsering Angchuk as its Deputy Chairman.

Election Leh Hill Council was held on the October 22 and the results declared on the October 26, with BJP winning 15 seats, followed by Congress (9) and independents (2).

Most of the councilors were dressed in traditional Ladakhi Gonha and they took the oath in Ladakhi language. While Councillor Khaltsi Lobzang Sharap attire in full traditional Ladakhi dress and took oath in Ladakhi language. Councillor Chuchot Mirza Hussain took the oath in Urdu followed by some Councillor took the oath in English.    

Prominent among those present on the occasion included District Magistrate, Leh, Sachin Kumar Vaishya, Secretary District Legal Service Authority Leh, Spalzes Angmo, Munsiff JMIC Nobra, Chemet Yurgyal, SSP Leh Rajiv Panday, ADC Leh, Sonam Chosjor, religious heads, political heads and HODs of Leh district.