Re-poll in four polling stns in Poonch district on December 21


Jammu, December 18: UT’s State Election Commission on Friday ordered re-polling on December 21 in four polling stations for District Development Council’s Mendhar-A and Mendhar-B constituency in border Poonch district of Jammu and Kashmir.

This follows report by District Panchayat Election Officer, Poonch, Rahul Yadav, about incidents of “violence and unlawful activities’’ at these polling stations during 7th phase of DDC elections held on Wednesday.

The four polling stations where re-polling will be held include 17-Primary School, Hajama and 32 Middle School, Gallian, both in Mendhar A; besides 29-Middle School, Sakhimaidan and 30-Girls Middle School, Sakhimaidan, both Mendhar B constituency. 

The repolling will take place from 7 am to 2 pm on December 21, according to a letter sent by Election Commission Secretary Anil Salgotra to DPEO, adding counting of votes polled there will be done along with rest of the DDC as per original schedule on December 22.

The Election Commission ordered replacement of all the polling staff deployed at these four polling stations, adding that additional security forces shall be deployed at these polling stations to maintain strict law and order.

It also ordered videography/CCTV coverage of the entire poll process, other than the voting compartment. It further ordered the DPEO to ask all the contesting candidates/political parties to replace their polling agents at these polling stations, besides passing necessary directions to Returning Officer, Assistant Returning Officer and other polling staff to ensure free, fair and smooth polling at these places.

DPEO had on Wednesday suspended six government employees for participating in political activity including booth capturing, tempering of votes and manhandling of Congress candidate in Mendhar. Those suspended included Afzal Bashir, Medical Assistant, Health Department, Mendhar; Amjit Bashir, Physical Education Teacher, Uraki Mankote; Shahid Bashir, Forest Protection Force; Mohd Mushtaq, Teacher, Middle School Bhatakas Mendhar; Sarfraz Khan, Gang Coolie, PWD Department, Mendhar and Murtaza Ali Mumtaz, Agriculture Assistant Mendhar.