NC opens account in Jammu division after getting hold of Kishtwar, Ramban DDCs


Jammu: Finally opening its account in Jammu division, National Conference on Thursday got  hold of Ramban and Kishtwar districts when its nominees got elected as chairpersons of respective District Development Councils there.

According to officials, NC’s DDC member from Sangaldan, Shamshad Bano was elected as chairperson and Rabia Hamid (independent) from Banihal-A as vice-chairperson during the election held under supervision of Ramban Deputy Commissioner Mussarat Islam, who is also the District Election Officer.

In the 14-member Ramban DDC, National Conference has six members, BJP and independents (3 each), and Congress (2).

In Kishtwar district, NC’s Pooja Thakur and Congress’ Saima Parveen Lone were declared elected as chairperson and vice chairperson respectively with eight votes and seven votes, respectively.

In the DDC, NC has six members, Congress and BJP (three each), besides independents (two).

Later, the  newly elected chairpersons and vice chairpersons were administered oath of office by respective Deputy Commissioners at both  the places.

Earlier, the elections to key positions in both these districts along with Rajouri was scheduled to be held on February 13, but the electoral process got adjourned due to lack of quorum. In Rajouri, the election of DDC chairperson and vice chairperson is scheduled to be held on Friday.

So far, BJP has got hold of six districts in Jammu division and independents (one). Now NC winning key positions in two districts, the electoral process in Rajouri on Friday will conclude the election to key positions in DDCs across Jammu division.