After 13 years, UPSC to take call on induction of police officers from J&K into IPS


By Bunty Mahajan

Jammu: The Union Public Service Commission is holding a meeting of the selection committee on Thursday to prepare a list of police officers from Jammu and Kashmir Police Service (JKPS) for induction into the Indian Police Service (IPS).

It has been after a period of 13 years that the Selection Committee Meeting has been fixed by the UPSC as there has been no induction of state services police officer into IPS since 2008. The SCM will be chaired by UPSC member Dr. T.C. Anant and it will be attended by J&K’s Chief Secretary Dr. Arun Kumar Mehta, UT’s Principal Secretary Home Shaleen Kabra and Director General of J&K Police Dilbagh Singh. Two senior officers of the Ministry of Home Affairs are also likely to participate in the meeting.

Sources said that the meeting will decide on the induction of both serving and retired police officers from state services into the IPS. It may also consider 3 – 11 retirees for induction, apart from the 1999- batch JKPS officers figuring at the top of seniority list, sources added.

Those figuring at the top of seniority list are Shakti Kumar Pathak, Dr. Haseeb Mughal , Javid Ahmed Koul, Ramesh Kumar Bhat, Sheikh Junaid Mehmood, Shahid Mehraj Rather, Dr. Ajeet Singh, Altaf Ahmed Khan, Haseeb-Ur-Rehman, Vikas Gupta ,Abdul Qayoom, Nisha Nathyal, Maqsood-ul-Zaman, Javid Iqbal Matoo, Mubassir Latifi Ameer, Shiv Kumar Sharma and Suhail Munawar Mir.

The proposal for induction of local officers in IPS was submitted by the J&K government to the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) in May last year after MHA determined 28 vacancies.

The MHA had determined eight vacancies for 2010, three for 2011, eight for 2012 and nine for 2013.

Later, the MHA had determined 13 more vacancies for the period between 2014 to 2019 procedure.

The selection committee scrutinizes the records/ ACRs and other details of local officers thoroughly and as per the provisions of Regulation 5(4) of the promotions Regulations. According to rules, the committee records its recommendations in the shape of ‘Minutes’ which are signed by each member and the chairperson.

These minutes are first sent to the State government concerned which in turn forward these to the central Government after its concurrence. The central Government also examines the minutes and conveys its concurrence to the UPSC. Finally, these are placed before the Commission. The Commission conveys its approval to the Central Government which is the cadre controlling authority for the Indian Police Service. Subsequently, the MHA issues notification for induction of officers in IPS.